Like a treasure hunt

I often equate shopping for food and eating out like a hunt for buried treasure. Just because food doesn’t say “gluten free” doesn’t mean that it is and likewise if sometimes it says gluten free it really isn’t. I read a lot of labels. I have become so adept at it that I can read a label faster than most. It’s actually something I take great pride in.

I get concerned that there are a bunch of folks out there who rely on that “gluten free” tag and only shop looking for that as opposed to reading. Here are MY quick solutions –

If a label says ANY of the following, put it back on the shelf and thank it for it’s time – – –

Malt, Barley, Wheat, Spelt, Rye – – – and like vowels there is the redheaded stepchild (the Y of the Gluten Free world – Oats). In doing research, I have found that really the biggest reason that people have issues with oats is that it is sometimes processed on the same equipment that other things are processed on. An oat itself is not a gluten item but stuff that gets crossed with it is so – the “Y” of the gluten world, in my opinion.

Some people who are celiac have other sensitivities too such as corn, rice, soy, dairy and I recently heard of zanthan gum. Know what you have issues with and scan those labels.

Recently, I bought some Trio Bars, Trio Bars are endorsed by the Celiac Research Institute and yet they don’t have a GF label on them. So, you see – know your food and what you are looking for. People are so used to being told what to buy instead of looking at labels it’s crazy. They often ask advice on the best GF this or that – I once was asked which fruits and vegetables to avoid because of gluten and truly I was asked this because there was no label.

People PAY A LOT for labels and companies bank on that so just KNOW what is in your food, know what to avoid and know that you don’t need something to say those magic words “gluten free” to be safe.

Image

Carmen at a Sushi Bar – Tempura, true Tempura is corn starch, Miso Soup is soy, Fresh Spring Rolls are made with Rice Wraps and rice is just rice

Image

Daddy wants some too!

Leave a comment